VA – Super Breaks Essential Funk, Soul, & Jazz Samples and Breakbeats – Vol.1, 2 (19992000) FLAC

Artist:Various artists

Title:Super Breaks: Essential Funk, Soul, & Jazz Samples and Breakbeats – Vol.1, 2

Year Of Release:1999/2000

Label:BGP Records

Genre:Jazz-Funk, Funk, Disco

Quality:FLACs (tracks)

Total Time:2:24:28

Total Size:388 Mb / 481 Mb


01. Soul Children – Intro (Spoken Word) (0:12)
02. Isaac Hayes – Ike’s Mood (6:34)
03. Jackie Wilson – Light My Fire (2:51)
04. Syl Johnson – Different Strokes (2:22)
05. Counts, The – Thinking Single (3:11)
06. Emotions, The – Blind Alley (3:08)
07. Camille Yarbrough – Take Yo’ Praise (4:13)
08. Linda Lyndell – What A Man (2:43)
09. Lowell Fulson – Tramp (3:07)
10. Googie Rene Combo – Smokey Joe’s La La (2:59)
11. Jean-Jacques Perrey – E.V.A. (3:12)
12. Blackbyrds, The – Rock Creek Park (4:38)
13. Fatback Band, The – Got To Learn How To Dance (3:48)
14. Pleasure (4) – Bouncy Lady (3:57)
15. Joe Simon – Drowning In The Sea Of Love (3:29)
16. Cannonball Adderley – Walk Tall (3:58)
17. S.O.U.L. – Burning Spear (3:59)
18. Otis And Carla Band, The – Tramp (Instrumental) (2:32)
19. Pazant Brothers, The – Chick A Boom (3:06)
20. Detroit Emeralds – Baby Let Me Take You (In My Arms) (3:44)

Like the rest of the Super Breaks series, the first volume is ostensibly built around records that have been sampled by hip-hoppers, but can really be enjoyed by anyone looking for some quality obscure soul funk. The 20 tracks here span the late 1960s to the late 1970s, balanced between little-known tracks by noted artists (Jackie Wilson, Isaac Hayes, the Blackbyrds), mid-level soul artists (Syl Johnson, the Emotions, the Detroit Emeralds, the Soul Children, Fatback Band), and non-hitmakers, with a couple of actual well-known cuts (Joe Simon’s "Drowning in the Sea of Love" and Lowell Fulson’s "Tramp") to boot. It’s the variety and quality that make this and its companion volumes worthy standouts, particularly in a genre that wasn’t (as of 2000) over-mined to death. You have sultry female-sung grinders, hot instrumentals, soul-jazz crossovers (Cannonball Adderley’s "Walk Tall," Burning Spear’s flute-motored "S.O.U.L."), go-go music in the Ramsey Lewis mold (Googie Rene Combo’s "Smokey Joe’s La La"), even cheesy then-futuristic synth funk (Jean Jacques Perrey’s oft-sampled "Eva"). It’s not all killer; some of the later-vintage offerings are more in the standard soul-turning-to-disco form. It’s one of the better anthologies to start with, though, if you’re looking to collect stuff in this style beyond the norm. [This U.K. import is not available for sale in North America.]


01. Herman Kelly & Life – Dance To The Drummer’s Beat (4:15)
02. All The People, Robert Moore (3) – Cramp Your Style (2:16)
03. Baby Huey – Hard Times (3:23)
04. Isaac Hayes – Hyperbolicsyllabicsesquedalmistic (9:40)
05. William DeVaughn – Be Thankful For What You Got (3:47)
06. Detroit Emeralds – You’re Gettin’ A Little Too Smart (3:23)
07. Freda Payne – Unhooked Generation (2:32)
08. 20th Century Steel Band – Heaven And Hell Is On Earth (5:09)
09. 24 Carat Black – Ghetto: Misfortune’s Wealth (3:44)
10. Ernie Hines – Our Generation (3:14)
11. Rufus Thomas – The Breakdown (Part 2) (3:15)
12. Joe Tex – Papa Was, Too (3:00)
13. Wilbur Bascomb & The Zodiac – Just A Groove In G (2:46)
14. Funk Inc. – Kool Is Back (8:19)
15. Pleasure (4) – Joyous (6:31)
16. Fatback Band, The – Put Your Love (In My Tender Care) (3:55)
17. Emotions, The – I Like It (2:31)
18. Caesar Frazier – Funk It Up (5:05)

Like volume one of Super Breaks, this features funk songs from the late ’60s to the late ’70s that have been sampled for hip-hop productions. Whether that’s the launching point of your interest in this material or not, it can be enjoyed as a crawl through some underexposed vintage funk music, some by fairly famous artists, some by unknowns. Actually, William De Vaughan’s "Be Thankful for What You Got" was a megahit, but that’s the only track of the sort on the CD (though Tex’s "Papa Was, Too" was a fairly big R&B single). Isaac Hayes, Freda Payne, Rufus Thomas, Joe Tex, the Fatback Band, the Detroit Emeralds, and the Emotions are all heard from, though the tracks bound to arouse the greatest pique from collectors are the ones no one’s really heard, like Baby Huey’s cover of Curtis Mayfield’s "Hard Times." Some of this is only average stuff for the style, to be honest, but there are more exciting tracks as well, like Payne’s "Unhooked Generation," which will please anyone who liked "Band of Gold," even if it never got even a thousandth of the attention. All the People’s "Cramp Your Style" and Wilbur Bascomb and the Zodiac’s "Just a Groove in G" are decent obscure early-’70s funk workouts, of the kind that fill up those compilations of artists who James Brown worked with or produced, though Brown didn’t happen to collaborate with these folks. Detailed liner notes explain which hip-hoppers used bits of these songs in later days, for those who are interested. [This U.K. import is not available for sale in North America.]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Frontier Theme